Southern Tier Society of Health-System Pharmacists Meeting Minutes

March 21, 2016

I. Introductions

The organization meeting of the Southern Tier Society of Health-System Pharmacists (STSHP) was held at 6pm on March 16, 2016 at Bri Marie, Sayre, PA.

The following persons were present:

- Bob Schmidt, System Director Pharmacy, United Health Services, Inc.
- Jim Jester, PharmD, Associate Director Acute Care Pharmacy, United Health Services, Inc.
- Lyndsay Wormuth, Pharm.D, BCACP, United Health Service, Inc.
- Jessica Ramich, PharmD, Pharmacy Clinical Specialist, Guthrie-Corning Hospital
- Sergio Zullich, PharmD, Director of Inpatient Pharmacy, Robert Packer Hospital
- Paul Mollo, PharmD, Director of Pharmacy, Lourdes
- Mark Hopson, RPh, MLS, Directory of Pharmacy, Guthrie-Corning Hospital
- Michael Gum, PharmD, System Director of Pharmacy, Guthrie Healthcare System
- Bill Bacon, RPh, MHA, System Director of Pharmacy, Arnot Health

II. History of the Chapter

Bob Schmidt reviewed the history of the former Southern Tier Chapter. Discussed some of the challenges the chapter faced due to the "long" geographic area it covered.

III. The "New Society" – the resurrection

The factors driving interest to revive the former chapter were discussed. Such factors include the lack of a professional organization to serve the needs of regional pharmacists, the increase in the number of practitioners in the area, creation of a new pharmacy school at Binghamton University, and the growing development of a highly skilled technician work force. Steps taken to date to work with the NYCSHP central office to form the new local society were reviewed. Highlighted was the request that the new society boundaries be focused in the Brome – Tioga region of the former Southern Tier chapter.

IV. Constitution and Bylaws

The NYSCHP Council Constitution and Bylaws (C&B) Committee approved the new STSHP C&B Bylaws on February 22nd. The document was reviewed with emphasis on the society's membership categories, officers and their duties, Board of Directors, and Standing Committees.

V. Task at Hand

a. Selection of Officers - One of the first charges from the council office was to appoint officers to the new society to fill these rolls until formal elections can be held in 2017. The following individuals volunteered to fill these positions:

Past President – Bob Schmidt President – Jessica Ramich President Elect – Bill Bacon Secretary – Sergio Zullich Treasurer – Jim Jester

b. Meeting Location and calendar - For the immediate future, it was agreed to hold meetings at the Owego Treadway Inn. Meetings will be held on the 3rd Tuesday of each month September through June. It was also agreed that meetings of the Board of Directors would be scheduled for immediately prior to the society meetings.

Bob Schmidt will communicate to the central office these meeting minutes, the appointed officers, and request information on next steps to be taken by this committee.

The next meeting of the organizing committee will be April 19, 2016 at 6:00 pm at the Owego Treadway. Dinner will be on your own off the menu.

Minutes submitted by: Bob Schmidt