WE will be an influential dynamic organization that shapes the future of pharmacy.


The mission of the New York State Council of Health-system Pharmacists is to represent its members and advance pharmacy as an essential component of health care.


NYSCHP Table of Organization (Updated January 13, 2021)

The nine regional chapters of NYSCHP provide networking, programming and leadership to pharmacists practicing in health care facilities throughout NYS.  NYSCHP is active in the community involving itself in outreach programs in schools, medical centers and teaching hospitals.  For example, NYSCHP members provide education and information to senior citizen groups, emphasizing the importance of avoiding adverse drug reactions, adherence to prescribed drug therapies and awareness of the proper storage and expiration of medication.

Approved by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education as a provider of continuing pharmaceutical education, the New York State Council of Health-system Pharmacists offers a full spectrum of continuing education programming across the state at various times of the year.  Presented to members and non-members, either free or at a minimal cost, these programs are offered throughout the year at the Annual Assembly, and the Tri-State Program and a number of practice -- based programs that will assist in the implementation of Collaborative Drug Therapy Management.  In addition, the local chapters host educational programs monthly.

NYSCHP is actively involved in the legislative process on behalf of its members, and supporting its members in engaging in grassroots advocacy.  NYSCHP strongly supports expansion of the scope of practice, regulation of technicians, and expansion of immunization authority.  NYSCHP monitors hundreds of bills ranging from drug labeling to professional licensure to the Medicaid and Medicare programs.

New York State Council of Health-system Pharmacists
  230 Washington Avenue Extension
Suite 101
Albany, NY 12203

The Council provides leadership and resources to promote quality pharmaceutical services directed at appropriate medication therapy and positive patient outcomes.




As pharmacy budgets tighten and staff members are expected to do more with less during these trying times, we must not neglect our professional responsibility to train the next generation of pharmacists.  All of us can recall at some point receiving guidance and training from someone who went above and beyond to teach us. Providing that spark to our profession’s youth is essential to our future success.  Each pharmacist is able to share their own methods, pearls, and unique insight that can contribute to this effort. In 2007, a conglomerate of pharmacy organizations joined forces and revised the Oath of a Pharmacist to highlight this endeavor. The following statement was added, “I will utilize my knowledge, skills, experiences and values to fulfill my obligation to educate and train the next generation of pharmacists.”  The Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education has revised its standards for PharmD student experiences.  These new standards expose students to the workplace sooner and more often.  Schools of Pharmacy have many new opportunities available for potential preceptors. Perhaps it is time to consider renewing your commitment to the training of our future colleagues.

Submit a comment or concern to our Board of Directors.

NYSCHP Past Presidents

Angela Cheng Lai

David Adelman
Mary Andritz
Michael Blumenfeld
Leigh Briscoe-Dwyer
Alan Caspi
Ruth Cassidy
Heide Christensen
Henry Cohen
Wayne Conrad
John Coppola
Nancy DiLiegro
Karen Falk
Ted Friedman
Norman Gallagher
Marcia Gutfeld
Qazi Halim
William Hotaling
Dave Howard
Susan Hunt Hurrell
Marcia Jacinto
Bentley Johnson
Jack Kitrenos
Kurt Kleinmann
Marvin Lew
Thomas Lombardi
Anthony Longo
Clifford Lord
Harvey Maldow
John Manzo
Ralph McGarrity
Joseph Medicis
Bernard Mehl
Roxie Miles
Timothy Mirando
Thomas O'Brien
Fay Peck
Joseph Pinto
Bruce Pleskow
Vickie Powell
Herb Reiman
Stephanie Seyse
Liz Shlom
Harold Silverman
Mark Sinnet
Patricia Siola
Frank Sosnowski
Robert Stevens
Lisa Voigt
Kimberly Zammit
Richard Zeitoun